Lopi Liberty overnight burn

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Foggy Mtn

Jan 8, 2022
Tennessee
This is my first year with my Lopi Liberty and in doing research prior to getting I found a lot of questions about key dampers, stove overheating and such so I thought I would make this post to help people in the future. …

My setup is a Liberty with no key damper, around 24’ of double wall pipe with 2 45 degree connectors about 17’ up. The stove is located in the open area of the house with cathedral ceiling about 19’ high. 1950 sqft and the stove heats the entire house.

Last night I loaded the stove with 5 large pieces of hickory north/south on a large bed of coals with a stove top temp of 350. If I tried I could have worked several more smaller pieces in the stove as there was still some space left. I let it burn with air all the way open for around 17 min and began to shut it almost all the way down. Here is a video of how closed down I got the stove with very dry hickory. House was still warm 9 hr later with plenty of coals. Stove was around 300 or so. Low outside was 20. Our house with the high ceiling was pretty hard to keep warm for long periods of time with our last stove. The Liberty will throw some serious heat. And the steel retains heat way longer than I expected.

Hopefully this helps people like me trying to do research in the future. I am super pleased with the stove.

Attachments

• IMG_0968.mov
    7.9 MB
I really like the improvements on the new Liberty.

Reactions: Hoytman