"Modern" style, under-stove wood storage, quality construction and a Cat?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
I've been heating with wood for about 25 years, until last year in N. Idaho. Stoves were a Quadrafire insert, 4700i IIRD at the 1st place, then a Hearthstone Mansfield. Liked the Mansfield a lot, had it 25 years, and I don't think I replaced/repaired anything on it. Last year we moved to E. Tennessee, and the home is equipped with a "low end" (I think) Country Hearth brand stove. House was built in '16, already some cracks in the steel near at the corners of the firebox, hinges don't align properly, latch is fussy, have to lift up to get it to align.

So, a few observations from my first season here. First, humidity is much higher than what I had in N. ID, so wood is a lot moister when I bring it inside. Helps to bring in and let dry even overnight. Second, hardwood is nice! Been used to mostly douglas fir-which isn't terrible and is a dream to split! At the moment I have some pine to use for this winter-had several big ones go down in a windstorm, so I'll be turning them into BTUs. After that, hardwood. Other observation-obviously temps are much milder, so big heat output is less critical. But the place is not real well insulated-daylight basement is block, and non-insulated (I'm going to address that). Info on the house-about 2300 SF, open design, tall ceiling with upstairs loft, masonry chimney, about 22-24 foot.