Need HELP, choosing a stove

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

joshuaboston

Jul 24, 2015
Boston
Hi Guys,

I first want to say I am a complete NOOB, I have never had a wood stove and I have yet to use our fireplace. I have about 1,800 sf.

I have a corner fireplace which has a serious draft problem and can not be used. In the last six years I have placed a blow up pillow up into my flue to stop the draft.

Well after YEARS of saving :), my wife finally gave me permission to do something.

My options are either install a insert or get a wood stove that would fit in my opening. I only want wood, I do not want pellets.

Because it is a two sided (corner) fireplace, I don't think I want an insert... what is your opinion? I think if I get an insert I would have to redbrick the side or at the bare minimum put a steel wall on the side that is opened.

The height of my fireplace is 27.5", the width is 40" and brick area in front is 20", I never measured the depth.

I have a small child and I am worried about emissions. Basically I am looking for an ultra low emissions wood fire stove or insert (most like a stove... but I am opened minded).

I have come up with ONE stove that I really like... but it is on PRE ORDER...

Just looking for advice and ideas... The stove is called NOVA and is made my MFFire.

https://mffire.com/nova-small-wood-stove/

I live in Ashland, MA.

Also I am looking for any recommendations regarding installers.

fireplaceJB.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:
I wanted to add....