Need learning

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

lbteixe

Hearth Supporter
Sep 6, 2009
Eastern MA
This is my first year with pellet stove. I've been using an older Whitfield prodigy 2 pellet stove for a month and 1/2. My flame is high all the time, I also run it on high. This stove has a very small ash bin so I'm cleaning it out every couple of days. Lately it has been shutting down on me quite often. I don't think this is normal. When this happens I clean it out, it cools down and works fine again. I recently thought of checking my exhaust pipe. I opened the clean-out T and found it loaded with ash. What could be causing that amount of ash in the flue in such a short period of time that I've been using the stove. The flue installation is only 1 1/2 months old also, all new pipe. Is the flame supposed to be high?
I also think that I need to replace the exhaust / booster motor. Motor is working fine but makes a rattling (annoying) noise. After looking at it I found that the exhaust impeller spins freely from the collar. Does any one know how to remove the motor on this older stove?

Do a search here on the forum for the leaf blower trick if you haven't yet seen it. It is a great way to help give your stove a thourough cleaning, which should help you out some. You should probably do a complete cleaning job on your stove after burning every ton or so of pellets. The amount of ash could be quite normal, depending on your setup

A clean stove is a hot and happy stove.