Need seasoned wood - any suggestions

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

kflorence

Dec 1, 2008
new hampshire
Hello. I am looking to see if anyone could suggest a reputable wood dealer in Southern NH. This is my first year with a wood stove and I hear that there are alot of companies selling "green wood" and passing it off as seasoned wood. Could anyone suggest an honest company? Any response would be great.

Might be tough to find someone in December . . . not impossible, just tough.

If you are desperate, start hoarding pallets. Many businesses throw them away, just make sure they are not stained with chemicals.

As long as it didn't rain on them recently, pallets are often very dry. Cut them up with a sawsall or a chainsaw, but watch for nails if using a chainsaw. When burning, don't fill the firebox completely or you may have an overfire. Start with 1/4 full and work from there to see what works for you.

Good luck.

I would suggest going with BioBricks or Envi-8 blocks as an alternative to wood. They are essentially bricks of compressed saw dust. Cost is similiar to cord wood - maybe a little more depending on where you live. Just do a search for BioBricks and read up on them.

I would suggest you check with any wood burning neighbors and get their recommendations...even if you don't know them. Just stop and intro yourself...nothing beats word of mouth.

your alittle late, first suggestion is to buy a year ahead!