New to harvesting wood - black spots

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

jparker

Oct 17, 2019
PNW
I am new to harvesting my own wood and I have a question. There was a large fir that was already down on the property when I bought it last year. Its branches kept the trunk from having contact with the ground so there was no rot. I got it bucked and started spitting when I noticed black spots on the interior. I am not sure if it’s bug damage from before it blew down or bug damage after of if they aren't related to bugs at all.

So my question is what ares the black spots and do I need to be concerned? Is there anything I need to watch out for in the future when harvesting wood?

Thanks

Attachments

• New to harvesting wood - black spots
    02C4B20C-8176-4ED1-BB32-4EEFBE7FFA44.jpeg
    142.3 KB · Views: 220
    152F0374-0A63-4604-BB7F-66939F4BAC69.jpeg
    138.4 KB · Views: 199
Where was the tree located? I wouldn't worry about it as long as the wood isn't rotten, which it doesn't look.

Looks like moisture staining from where bugs bored into
the wood when it was alive. nothing to worry about
Around here we have what we call pink pine
White pine picks up minerals from where it grows
in this location, it happens to grow on pink granite
and as it drys the wood turns pink. Makes interesting furniture!!

You are right, those are bugs. I wouldn't worry, give 'em the Joan of Arc treatment and they will go bye bye.

I appreciate all the feedback.

Is there anything that one should be concerned with and look for when processing other than the wood being rotten?