New to the forum - Just how bad is 35-40% moist wood?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Woody06

Dec 31, 2016
Western MA
Hi All,

I'm new to posting on the forum but not necessarily to wood. I studied biomass gasification for fuel production in grad school. I've recently moved from the city (Boston) to 20 acres in Western Massachusetts and have caught the wood bug. I can't see a downed tree without experiencing the overwhelming urge to cut it up and split it.

So on to my question. The house we bought has a Harman SF-250. As many of you probably know these are monstrous pre-EPA stoves designed to be dual-fuel wood/coal. Eventually I'd like to get a catalytic stove (probably Blaze King) but for now this is what I have to burn with.

We moved in in January and I had some time to cut about a cord of downed wood before it snowed. It was felled about a year or two ago, but still has 30-40% moisture content.

If I can keep my stack temps in the 400-800 F range (internal probe) am I ok to burn this stuff? It seems like if the stack is hot creosote won't be too much of a problem.

We have oil central heat so the wood is not critical and is only burned some evenings and weekends. Do the experts out there think this is a bad idea? Any other thoughts?

Excited to be a part of such a knowledgeable community!