New to Wood Stoves . Recommendations?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

cbhopper

Nov 17, 2022
Michigan
Hi all--I'm new to wood stoves, but have wanted one for a long time. We live in SE Michigan in a 1300 Sq. Ft. 1950s brick ranch. We are hoping to replace the gas insert we have with a new stove (rear flue up the existing chimney). Our goal is to supplement our furnace and utilize the 26% tax credit. The dealer offered us two models--the Vermont Castings Dauntless and Encore--as they have these in stock and they qualify for the tax credit. I keep reading VERY mixed reviews on Vermont Castings. What do you all think? They also carry Jotul, which I believe are better based on what I've read, but I don't know the lead time.

There is another dealer nearby that offers:

Kuma
Blaze King
(do they have rear flue models?)
Hearthstone
Osburn
Quadra-Fire
Vermont Castings

I've reached out the other dealer, but would love to know if any of these brands should be the top of my list.

Thanks!

Neither of those two. Pick on e of the other three. The BK will exceed your expectations, The Qudrafire is a good choice as well as the osburn

for you smaller footprint I'd lean into kuma 1st, havent heard anything bad about them and the inserts seem to be built like tanks, they offer two types, I'd try to go with the bigger one personally.

There are no rear-exit flue models in the BK, Quadrafire, Kuma, or Osburn lines. The Green Mountain series Hearthstone stove may the best choice.
We are hoping to replace the gas insert we have with a new stove (rear flue up the existing chimney).