Newbie Jotul Stove Install Options

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Alexander L

Oct 31, 2014
SoCal Desert
Hi all! Total newbie to wood stoves. I bought a small cabin in the Southern California mountains, and I am in the process of renovating the little place. It had a fireplace insert, but the insert provided little heat and was also the source of water leaks/damage to the inside of the cabin . The insert has been removed and the wall has been closed.

The cabin has low 4 foot tall finished half-walls that transition to a steep pitched gambrel roof (tongue & groove on inside).

I purchased a Jotul F100 stove. The F100 can vent out the top or out the back, so I was hoping I could put the stove in front of the same spot where the old insert was, and vent out the back of the stove, passing through that wall using a through-the-wall chimney/thimble kit.

I did have a chimney installer out for a consultation and I was told that because of my wall and ceiling layout, I had to either go directly out the back and through the wall... or I had to go up through the roof, but a through-the-roof install would require a series of interior stove pipe bends because of the pitched wall (clearance to combustibles?)... otherwise the stove would have to sit near the middle of the room to go straight up and out. Honestly... I prefer not to cut through the ceiling/roof, anyhow.