Newbie looking for advice!!

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

oldandcold

Dec 12, 2011
ohio
First let me start by saying "what an awesome forum". Second let me say I am a complete novice at woodburning.

We recently purchased a double wide manufactured home that is approx 1900 Sq Ft. It currently uses electric forced air heating, and after doing some research I can't decide what my best option is. I am looking at either going with a stand alone wood stove or a wood furnace attached to the existing duct.

A couple concerns, most of the wood furnaces I see say they are not approved for mobile/manufactured homes. Our home actually sits on a full basement, which is where the current furnace is located. Any ideas why one of these would not be able to be installed in the basement? Also the chimney would have to run out of the basement wall and up the side of the house. I thought I read somewhere that the metal chimney going up the house would have to be triple wall, but I only see Lowes, Home Depot and Menards selling double wall http://menards.com/main/plumbing/he...wall/6-x-36-chimney-pipe/p-1323305-c-8502.htm. Would it be ok to use this?