primary flame competing with secondary flame?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

mar13

Minister of Fire
Nov 5, 2018
California redwood coast
I spend a lot of time watching and enjoying a fire, especially with being at home due to Covid lock down. I've also been experimenting a lot this winter with different woods and sawdust logs( e.g. pres-to-log). I'm still learning the "science" and "art" of a good fire. One thing I can't quite figure out lately is what are the conditions best for creating a secondary flame display and if that display is over rated. Here are some conditions that leave me a bit unsure of what's going on with respect to the science:

Situation 1. Strong yellow/orange (some may call "sooty") flames, such as produced when a sawdust log expands and burns vigorously. A lot of heat is produce, lots of flame, but no real classic display of secondary flame. (I suspect an inefficient use of the log's potential BTUs.) Mind you, this is when the box wasn't full of many other wood or deep in coals because I didn't want to risk over firing with a sawdust log. I'm wondering if the primary flame is consuming most of the oxygen and not leaving much oxygen for the secondary burn?