Problems with getting 20 cords at one time?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

mbcijim

Mar 10, 2008
Schuylkill County, Pa
I'm a real estate developer, and one of my upcoming projects I have going I need to clear cut 3 acres. I am thinking very hard about getting 3 log truck loads delivered, which will be essentially free. This winter I c/s/s one load, basically by myself.

My positives:
- I have the room.
- It's flat.
- I have 2.5 years c/s/s at this point, all done by hand, I just like it, it's exercise for me
- I never burn more than 4 cords in a year
- I can definitely use 3-4 cords off site (cabin)
- I definitely have some friends who would access the pile. Most are recreational burners but 2 are year round guys. I don't give it away but if they wanted to come over and help they could have at it. I don't keep track of work vrs. take.

So I am looking for the negatives of having that much wood. I can easily alter the number of loads, I could even get more, but I can get the loads usually 1-2 times a year, as many as I want.

The negatives:
- I've never had that much
- Risk of my supply rotting, some may not get burned for 5-6 years
- Maybe too much work

Any of you guys with experience have any thoughts or suggestions?

Way too much wood. You need to get it as far away as possible. I recommend Wyoming.