Smell of campfire in upstairs room where chimney runs through and out the roof when stove is not burning

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

TDurdin

Feb 15, 2018
Kingston, NY
I am in my second year of my Jotul F400 and metalsbestos chimney (both were purchased used). Everything started off great this year but now I have a couple issues.

1. My woodstove is not running as hot as it was last year and when I put in a new log it emits smoke into the room where it didn't last year. I understand that the wood I have been burning may not be dry enough and could be causing the temperature issue. Could this cause both issues?

2. When I am upstairs in my closet (chimney runs straight up through floor and out the roof) when the stove is not burning I detect a smokey campfire smell. This smell is also sometimes in the room when the stove is burning. This never happened last year.

I cleaned the chimney this past fall but I did forget to clean the top chimney section pipe as I needed to take that section off to get the brush down the rest of the chimney. Could this be my issue? is the chimney leaking?

Any thoughts?

Possibly when you removed the top section a lower joint came undone? Sounds like its leaking somewhere...

Time for a thorough flue cleaning and inspection asap. What you are smelling in the closet could be pyrolysis.

Is there an insulated stainless liner in the chimney or just a clay liner?

Reactions: SidecarFlip
Did you use locking bands for each section of pipe? I agree you need to stop burning and inspect the chimney before you use it again.