Splitting Elm...Need some advise

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

mmichaud

Hearth Supporter
Since I am new to wood burning I have not had very much experience with collecting/splitting wood. The other day I came across a dead elm tree that needed to be taken down. I thought, what a great deal, free wood. I cut it down with no problem, stacked it and got ready to split some of the larger pieces. Took my ax and hit the log and it bounced right back up. Tried it a couple of times with absolutely no success. Even my 4 ton electric splitter could not crack it. What kind of cruel joke is this? Does any one have any tricks to splitting elm besides getting a 20 ton hydraulic splitter? I have a bunch more of these dead elms to take down for free wood. It burns well and I would really like to use it without further abuse to my body.

Thanks in advanced.

Mike

Did you say ELM! :eek:hh: I use a gas 28 ton splitter so i'm not best to give you the best ins and outs of hand splitting ELM.

Ole' ELMer will come along and throw in his .02 as well as others .

That ELM is a BEOICH , that for sure.

Yeah get an 8lb maul and some wedges or a 20 ton gas splitter or a diffrent kind of wood.

Elm only makes up about 10-15 percent of what we burn...Maul and two wedges and lots of patience...I put the rounds in direct sun for a couple weeks to see where initial cracks give hint for splitting....If they continue to be A PITA my chainsaw will fix the problem..The stuff does burn well though and the price is right for you!