Tandem kayak - lake use

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Ashful

Minister of Fire
Mar 7, 2012
Philadelphia
I was asked to look into kayak options for a mother and child (ages 6 and 10) to do short lake outings. No long trips. No river use. Just a big calm lake, one mother, one child.

I spend every weekend in a boat, and used to do river canoe trips in my youth, but I’m a complete noob on kayaks.

Please educate me.

My wife wanted one. Probably so I could do the paddling while she talked and pointed at things. I vetoed it, lol.

I saw one being used this week with both people paddling. It looked fun!

Matt and absolutely no help here.

Reactions: Ashful
Matt and absolutely no help here.
The thread bump is a help!

I should have said, mom with one child at a time. My OP may have implied two kids at once.

I think I’m looking at plastic sit-on designs, for warm weather lake use. I see a ton of inflatable options, even at Walmart. But since I plan to double-deck this on one of my sailboat trailers, I’m thinking a hard shell option is likely better for us. I haven’t seen much in the way of hard shell tandem sit-ons locally, though.

I suspect with smaller kids, folks just use a single sit-on with parent and child, no need for a tandem. That might work with the 6 year old, but the 10 year old is getting a little big for that.

Is there and EMS (Eastern Mountain Sports) by you? I know a lot closed, but we still have one here. Check if they have kayaks for rental. The EMS here sells them at the end of the season for very good prices.

If they do, I'd talk with the manager for first dibs on the one you want.