What is the purpose of a Woodshed?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

mts3740

May 19, 2009
Tennessee
Obviously with a question like this I'm new to the wood burning world. I'm considering building a small woodshed to hold approximately 4 cords of wood. Some people I've talked with tell me you don't need a shed to store wood. They suggest tarping etc... Others tell me that you only put seasoned wood in a shed and the structure should be weather tight to keep the wood dry. And others tell me you can put green wood in a shed for seasoning but you need to build the structure as open as possible to accomodate air flow. To say the least I'm a bit confused. I would greeatly appreciate comments, and suggestions. Thanks

None of these are wrong. It depends on your situation. My sheds get filled in early fall with dry wood to keep it snow/ice/rain free for the heating season. Space under a roof is at a premium for me, so green wood stays outside until it is dry.

Its primarily to keep wood dry before you bring it into the house. I think most people season outside than move it into a shed. I think that is too much moving around. I don't use a shed. If I got a lot of snow I may think differently.