Where does one begin?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

MTY

Feeling the Heat
Jan 9, 2019
Idaho
Rough framing will be complete in the next few days. Windows are in, roof is on. I plan to insulate the heck out of it. I have good southern exposure and plenty of room.

I have the tools and ability to do the work myself. I have wired several houses in the past. I have no knowledge of solar or any idea of where to begin. Temp power is in the yard, but I have not begun to trench lines or wire the house.

Other than talking to the power company, what is the first step in putting in solar tied to the grid? They have a display in front of their offir, but I'd rather not sound like an idiot when I go to talk with them.

Reactions: LightsGuide
IMO that is the only first step.

What comes of that would then lead to the next steps.

For instance, they might require contractor installed, with the contractor to be selected from their list of approved ones - in which case a talk with a couple of said contractors would be the next step.

Sometimes it works out the best to go talk to the power company (or whoever in total dumbness, even if you have to play it hard. ;)

First Step buy this book, https://www.dummies.com/store/produ...Dummies-2nd-Edition.productCd-0470596783.html there is free download of the first editions somewhere but I could not find it quickly.