Wood chopping tips

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

jpm995

Nov 1, 2020
Lindenhurst, New York
I have a new found respect for those that chop their own wood. I'm new to wood stoves [bought a TruNorth TN10] and trying to split some stumps my neighbor donated. The shorter, smaller pieces go good but the ones about 13" diameter and 20" long are killing me. I'm using a new Fiscars maul [8lbs] and a 4 lb ax. It's taking about an hour to split up one log. The top gets tenderized more than split, the maul bounces off many times. Am i doing it wrong or is there a trick to this?

I have a new found respect for those that chop their own wood. I'm new to wood stoves [bought a TruNorth TN10] and trying to split some stumps my neighbor donated. The shorter, smaller pieces go good but the ones about 13" diameter and 20" long are killing me. I'm using a new Fiscars maul [8lbs] and a 4 lb ax. It's taking about an hour to split up one log. The top gets tenderized more than split, the maul bounces off many times. Am i doing it wrong or is there a trick to this?
I find it takes a couple sessions to get back in shape every fall. You may simply be trying to split some pieces that are impossible to split by hand. Elm can be that way along with several other varieties.