Wood rack or shed design?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Yarzy

Dec 27, 2010
Chalfont, PA
Hi everyone,

Now that the ice/snow/rain has come, my pile of firewood is less than optimal due to the elements. It has me thinking about next year (this is my first year wood burning) and how to protect, store, etc. the wood stacks better. Does anyone have, or can point me to any building plans on how to build a good wood rack/shed?

THANKS!

Do a search in the site. You'll find dozens of threads discussing wood sheds with pictures, sketches, reasons, etc.

You'll need to come up with a lot of info before someone can give you an educated opinion:
How many cord do you want to store?
How long are you going to store it? (Pre-seasoned outside in piles, or put into the shed green.)
Are you in the city limits? (building permits, neighbours, etc.)
Is your ground level?
Does it drain well?
Tin roof or shingles? (There are debates to be found over this choice.)

You can build something cheap with pallets and plastic.
You can go for the trophy, with doors, a tv and a lazy-boy next to a stove (sometimes called a man-zone).

Enjoy your search. I'm planning on starting a pole barn this summer, with room for my tractor, by b.i.l.'s van and about 8 cord of wood. I've been planning it for over 2 years, and have kept a notebook nearby for ideas / sketches / to-do-list, etc.