Creosote and Smoke, Traeger GBU070

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

GranvilleDave

Dec 15, 2014
Granville, Ohio
This is my first year with a pellet stove. It's recently began emitting a fair amount of smoke. When I turn one of the can lights on in the basement, you can see the smoke in the air. This recently started. I've replaced the gaskets in the front of the stove (clean out) and replaced the gaskets around both access doors in the front of the stove. One thing that I've messed with that may be responsible for some of this is that my draft blower has a damper on the bottom that swings open to let more air through the blower. It has been closed but I noticed that my stove burn pot was not burning very strong (it used to be much stronger). When I open that damper, the fire burns very vigorously as I expect. But, now, I have this smoke problem and I can't seem to find where the smoke is coming from. I've tried shining a flash light across the openings and the leak is not obvious.

Also, and perhaps it's related, my stove does smoke a lot (regardless of which pellets I burn) and it has created a lot of what I assume is creosote that has run down my chimney cap and down my chimney (looks terrible). They are dark brown streaks and you can see where it's running. It's also coming out of the pipes that connect my stove to the chimney liner.