Enviro Milan wont stay lit - Burn pot full of pellets

md2002 Posted By md2002, Feb 18, 2018 at 3:34 PM

  1. md2002

    md2002
    Feeling the Heat 2.
    NULL
    

    Oct 18, 2011
    323
    22
    Loc:
    United States
    There was no break in the tube, there's a pic in a prior post. The welding had chipped off the top of the tube, I've since patched it with cement at Enviros request but I still get the same issue. I may mess around with the burnpot a bit because there may be something distorted?
    This is for sure an airflow problem but I (we) can't figure out what's causing it.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. hearthtools

    hearthtools
    Moderator Emeritus 2.
    NULL
    

    Jan 6, 2006
    2,090
    41
    Loc:
    Oakhurst, California, USA, Earth
    Definitely need to pound out liner and get it seated down to where the holes are below burn pot holder

    Sent from my HTC6545LVW using Tapatalk
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. md2002

    md2002
    Feeling the Heat 2.
    NULL
    

    Oct 18, 2011
    323
    22
    Loc:
    United States
    Yes I took the cover out to clean behind it, and blow behind it to be sure there was no blockage. I also took a pipe cleaner and cleaned the pipe to be sure there was no blockage. Your observation is dead on, I've had the stove for 6 years now and I've never had dark exhaust or creosote build up behind the wall until this issue started, the crap you see all over the wall in the pic has never, ever been there before. Normally I clean the ash off the wall and there is no creosote or darkness anywhere. Since this issue started every time I take the back wall off it looks worse. Also - the inside of the stove get very dark and dirty and glass gets dirty quick. There's a blockage or break somewhere but short of taking the entire stove apart I can't find it. I've cleaned until I can't clean anymore.
     

    Attached Files:

    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. stovelark

    stovelark
    Minister of Fire 2.
    NULL
    

    Oct 10, 2009
    1,420
    280
    Loc:
    SE CT
    HI md- understand your frustration, I am a big Enviro fan, have sold installed and cleaned many many Enviros. I have found few that I could not figure out, but this season alas, yours is the 2nd one I haven't been able to help- the first was an Empress FS. I find this design (the milan and empress inserts) to be better than the FS model, the cast heat exchanger is quite the nice design, seems more reliable too. This kind of issue is frustrating, espec if no one seems to be able to help... I hope you get it, if you would please let us know too, so we can benefit from it and of course congratulate you then for sticking with her..
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    hearthtools likes this.
  5. md2002

    md2002
    Feeling the Heat 2.
    NULL
    

    Oct 18, 2011
    323
    22
    Loc:
    United States
    This seems to be the consensus so I'll bang it out some more and see if it helps.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. md2002

    md2002
    Feeling the Heat 2.
    NULL
    

    Oct 18, 2011
    323
    22
    Loc:
    United States
    1st problem in 6 years so I can't complain. I'm going to stick with this until I get it.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    stovelark likes this.
  7. hearthtools

    hearthtools
    Moderator Emeritus 2.
    NULL
    

    Jan 6, 2006
    2,090
    41
    Loc:
    Oakhurst, California, USA, Earth
    So what are the feed times on and off for both and low feed?



    Sent from my HTC6545LVW using Tapatalk
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. md2002

    md2002
    Feeling the Heat 2.
    NULL
    

    Oct 18, 2011
    323
    22
    Loc:
    United States
    I'm not sure what you're asking but the feed rate is set at the default right now at #4. Over the years I have never changed this from default but since this has started I have moved the feed rate up and down to see if it will help with no luck. Here's what the manual says about the feed rate when set at 4.

    Used to change the feed rate trims in ¼ second increments for all feed settings. When this button is pressed, all the light will light up on the Heat Output Indicator except for the one that shows the current setting; the default setting is the number 4 light. To adjust the setting hold the Feed Rate Trim button down and press the Heat Level up or down buttons to adjust the setting
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. md2002

    md2002
    Feeling the Heat 2.
    NULL
    

    Oct 18, 2011
    323
    22
    Loc:
    United States
    Another thing I've noticed, and you (The Stove Doc) maybe on to something with the auger. Many times there is no flame in the pot, it's more or less just hot amber's across the bottom of the burn pot, then eventually more pellets fall and there's a flame then it works foe a few minutes then there's just hot amber's across the bottom. So I got to thinking - if there is no flame and just hot amber's maybe when the pellets are dropping the new pellets aren't catching on fire fast enough and this is one of the reasons the stove smothers itself, I think this still points to an airflow issue but it's just something else I've noticed.

    Should I set the auger trim higher so it feeds more pellets and maybe this will keep a flame in the pot and not smother itself?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. md2002

    md2002
    Feeling the Heat 2.
    NULL
    

    Oct 18, 2011
    323
    22
    Loc:
    United States
    Might as well add more pics in case it helps.

    IMG_20180322_130243.jpg IMG_20180322_130602.jpg
     

    Attached Files:

    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. hearthtools

    hearthtools
    Moderator Emeritus 2.
    NULL
    

    Jan 6, 2006
    2,090
    41
    Loc:
    Oakhurst, California, USA, Earth
    I was meaning what is the feed time in seconds.
    Feeds for 2 seconds
    Then
    Off for
    17 seconds?
    And so forth for each heat setting
    And yes you need to check the auger motor and make sure it spins for the full charge. 066992b5b188e5bd666a38fe03a35225.jpg

    Sent from my HTC6545LVW using Tapatalk
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. hearthtools

    hearthtools
    Moderator Emeritus 2.
    NULL
    

    Jan 6, 2006
    2,090
    41
    Loc:
    Oakhurst, California, USA, Earth
    Motor d8fc11277394640f39b41ffecf1ba13f.jpg

    Sent from my HTC6545LVW using Tapatalk
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. md2002

    md2002
    Feeling the Heat 2.
    NULL
    

    Oct 18, 2011
    323
    22
    Loc:
    United States
    I can time the feed rate.. I've looked at the auger how you explained and the auger seems to be working and turn in as it should.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. corkman

    corkman
    Minister of Fire 2.
    NULL
    

    Dec 3, 2009
    694
    134
    Loc:
    SE,Mass
    At this point i think the stove has to be taken outside and do a major cleaning. Then when you think you’ve cleaned everything hook a leaf blower to the exhaust port at the back of the stove and let her rip. While blower is running tap on the firewall with a rubber mallet to loosen any crap that might be clogging things up. Then run the stove while yoh have it outfide and report back
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. hearthtools

    hearthtools
    Moderator Emeritus 2.
    NULL
    

    Jan 6, 2006
    2,090
    41
    Loc:
    Oakhurst, California, USA, Earth
    Crom his photos it looks all clear
    Just not sure of cap

    Sent from my HTC6545LVW using Tapatalk
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. corkman

    corkman
    Minister of Fire 2.
    NULL
    

    Dec 3, 2009
    694
    134
    Loc:
    SE,Mass
    Agree but the poor guy has done just about everything but the LBT
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    md2002 likes this.
  17. hearthtools

    hearthtools
    Moderator Emeritus 2.
    NULL
    

    Jan 6, 2006
    2,090
    41
    Loc:
    Oakhurst, California, USA, Earth
    He did blow the vent from inside because snow on roof

    Sent from my HTC6545LVW using Tapatalk
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  18. corkman

    corkman
    Minister of Fire 2.
    NULL
    

    Dec 3, 2009
    694
    134
    Loc:
    SE,Mass
    I’m sure his liner is good but the stove is clogged up somewhere. Being an insert it’s not the easiest thing to do but doing it will confirm the stove is indeed cleaned and cleared. It would be my next step
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  19. md2002

    md2002
    Feeling the Heat 2.
    NULL
    

    Oct 18, 2011
    323
    22
    Loc:
    United States
    The snow has cleared and I have been up to the roof, the cap is clear and I've done the leaf blower trick, I also blew as much as I could with a shop vac in the house. If this isn't fixed soon the plan is to take it outside once the spring hits and use a leaf blower on it and take it apart, completely apart. the ONLY thing I have yet to take apart is the auger and all the metal directly behind the stove, where the convection fan blows the air through. I'm pretty sure the stove can't be cleaned anymore without taking it apart piece by piece.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  20. md2002

    md2002
    Feeling the Heat 2.
    NULL
    

    Oct 18, 2011
    323
    22
    Loc:
    United States
    I checked the feed rights, seem about right. I found it tough to get exact timing but it seems close to what it should be.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  21. md2002

    md2002
    Feeling the Heat 2.
    NULL
    

    Oct 18, 2011
    323
    22
    Loc:
    United States
    I had some more time to work on this last night and I hooked up the voltage meter to the convection blower to test that and it tested fine, I also looked at the flap mentioned in an earlier post and I moved that a bit. I replaced the ash pan gasket (even though it's only a year old) and banged out the burnpot liner so it sits all the way in the burnpot. I also cleaned out the hopper of fines. The creosote is getting out of control, my stove never had it and now it all on the back walls (as you saw in the pics) and is moving it way to the side of the stove (pic) and on the glass. This is very unusual, my stove NEVER had creosote build up. The air flow is messed up. I also had some strange black ash this time around.

    The results weren't much different, the stove burned on setting #4 the whole day but would not burn on setting #3. I turned up the exhaust motor setting from the #2 default to #3 and then #4 and the stove seemed to burn on setting 3 for longer but it eventually went out.

    Since the nice weather is coming this is no longer urgent so I'm going to stop using it and take it out into the garage when I get a chance and run it with no air restriction and leaf blow the heck out of it. I'll keep everyone up to date in the rare case I figure this out and it can help someone in the future.

    Added some more pics because I can.

    Now I have a whole new set of problems. After testing the convection blower voltage I forgot to unplug the stove and I dropped the lead on metal and caused a spark - the stove still seems fine but the convection blower no longer spins. I'm hoping it's a fuse. The convection blower thread have been stripped too, probably from taking it off so much. Do those helicoil things work to fixed stripped threads?
     

    Attached Files:

    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  22. Ssyko

    Ssyko
    Minister of Fire 2.
    NULL
    

    Nov 6, 2017
    1,231
    271
    Loc:
    Lorraine NY
    Im thinking they are sheet metal screws and helicoil wont work. Might have to try a larger screw
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  23. hearthtools

    hearthtools
    Moderator Emeritus 2.
    NULL
    

    Jan 6, 2006
    2,090
    41
    Loc:
    Oakhurst, California, USA, Earth
    Hope is just the fuse
    You definitely have a combustion air problem.
    Did you check combustion voltage for each setting?

    Sent from my HTC6545LVW using Tapatalk
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  24. md2002

    md2002
    Feeling the Heat 2.
    NULL
    

    Oct 18, 2011
    323
    22
    Loc:
    United States
    Yes, it all checked out per the manual, seems to be working as expected and the voltage it should. They weren't exact numbers but they were going up by .5 volts or whatever the manual said for each setting increase.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    hearthtools likes this.
  25. md2002

    md2002
    Feeling the Heat 2.
    NULL
    

    Oct 18, 2011
    323
    22
    Loc:
    United States
    No, they're bolts.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...

Share This Page