*HELP* Bis Tradition CE woodstove vs Fmi Craftsman fireplace

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

tortugabear

Hearth Supporter
Aug 3, 2010
bay area, Ca
Hi everyone a newbie here. Hoping to get some good advise. I am located in the bay area of Calif. and my house is a 630 sq. ft 1932 bungalow. My house originally had a real masonry fireplace that unfortunately came down in the 89' quake. It was replaced with a wood chase and a gas fireplace that served as the only heat source. It had ongoing problems which led me to install central heat. I am now wanting to do something with the space that houses the broken down gas unit. I wanted to rebuild a masonry fireplace but after the $13,000.00 bid I quickly looked into other alternatives, which has led me here to you good folks. I am somewhat limited by my current chase set up as far as clearances go. It looks as though an FMI fireplace would slide in without any modifications. But I also like the idea of a woodstove to heat the house and lower my winter gas bill. One of the smallest units I have found is the Bis tradition CE. It is rated to heat up to 1500 Sq feet. Would this be to much stove for a 630 sq ft house? am I better off with the fireplace? Also with the BIS, I would have to do some major re-construction of the chase to enlarge it for height clearances. This will run several thousand more and I would hate to go through all the work and $$$s to find out I have to open my windows and doors when I have a fire going. Any thoughts? Thanks, Echo