Help Needed!!! Harman P61A vent options for existing chimney

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Bnice1414

Oct 25, 2017
Chambersburg PA
Hey guys! I am a newbie to the pellet stove thing and just picked up a Harman P61A to replace my coal stove in the family room. Thought that it would be easy to just call the local dealer and have them install it. Well they quoted me $1,200.00. Really need an affordable option and not sure how this should be vented or what I need. I have seen some people with the same model and forgive me if this is posted on another thread, BUT I am not seeing what I need and need your help.
  • I want to pull the old coal stove out and use the chimney for the pellet stove.
  • Read that 3" would work, does it have to be double walled?
  • Can it be flexible pipe (run is about 25 feet)?
  • Does it need a fresh air vent, because as it is all brick except the hole for pipe. If a fresh air pipe is needed, can cut the brick behind the stove into and from the garage if that is ok.
This really got complicated.

Any recommendation will be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Attachments

• 20171025_190317.jpg
    20171025_190317.jpg
    98.5 KB · Views: 275
  • 20171025_190331.jpg
    20171025_190331.jpg
    91 KB · Views: 288
For a 25 foot run you will need a 4" single wall flexible SS liner.
You will have to increase the Pellet Vent from 3" to 4"
after attaching the pellet stove adapter, & run that to the liner
connection in the existing chimney.
Depending on how tight your house is, you may not need the Outside Air Kit (OAK),
& I would run the stove without it. It can always be added later.