Help - New House with Fisher Stove - Questions for first time user

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Jeff_NC

Jan 6, 2017
NC
Hi all!

I'm in NC awaiting this winter storm and need help with my wood stove!

Short story: can I use this stove safely if our power goes out? Fire bricks are badly cracked and I've never used this before

Long story: we just bought a house a few months ago and I've never used a wood stove before. It came with a Fisher, based on my readings on this forum it's a Fisher Baby Bear. We're just at the beginning of this big storm and I'm hoping our power doesn't go out. But in the event it does, we may need to try out this woodstove.

Before I try it, I'd of course clear off the christmas decorations but if you folks say "don't even try it" then no point taking them down yet.

I don't see any damper installed. But my main worry is the fire bricks causing a problem. Any advice or suggestions would be very helpful!
20170106_223814.jpg 20170106_223739.jpg 20170106_224636.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:
Your main concern is that you don't have any idea what is in that chimney. Right now is not the time to be learning how to burn in the stove or getting a surprise from the chimney.

Turn up the thermostat and stay safe. The kind of snow you have coming shouldn't be a power killer.

I agree with brother bart.... when you bought the home did you have an inspection done that included the chimney? If not my recommendation would be to call a chimney sweep in your area and have them come and clean and inspect the chimney for you.