Pellet burner installation advice needed please - concerning issues

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Euphoria

Sep 19, 2017
Europe
Hello everyone, it's my first time posting here so I'll start by saying hi... "Hi" :)
I apologise in advance, this is a long post as I have a few different questions and worries, therefore I want to explain in detail as I'm quite concerned.

Situation and my concerns:
My elderly father has recently bought 2 pellet burners to replace his old and expensive to run log/coal stoves. He bought them with the intention of just straight swapping them, putting the new pellet burners in the same places the old log stoves were as he assumed they worked and vented the same way. But, I knew they have some differences compared to conventional log stoves, so I started doing some research. Upon doing so I immediately realised he might have some issues and potentially dangerous ones, which is why I'm here.
Plus, to add to the issue, the pellet burners he bought, although a reputable brand (apparently) and brand new from a store, they came with Zero information or instructions, just a generic print off piece of paper saying; don't get water on them, only burn pellets, don't open the door while burning... that sort of thing. So he knows nothing about how to install these burners or their requirements to work properly.