Size UPS?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
Most don't worry about it in my experience. You might get a little less heat off the stove but it will still heat

You can get by with a ups sized about 20-25% larger than the blowers draw for best performance and lifespan. You really only want to load a ups about 80% max.Most blowers draw anywhere from 150-500w. Most likely a 500va ups will be sufficient, or a 1kva.

A simple battery backup system with just a small inverter would work too. But would manually need to be switched over.

I am a ups field engineer so if u have any questions just ask. All i do all day is install, pm, and repair ups and battery systems

Reactions: msjones2452
Oh, i also agree that it really isnt needed. If we were talking about a pellet stove then that's entirely different.

Oh, i also agree that it really isnt needed. If we were talking about a pellet stove then that's entirely different.

No pellet stove, it's a Hampton HI400 hybrid. We don't often have power outages but when we do they can last a while. My upstairs can get pretty chilly w/o the furnace or stove running w/o blower. The air just doesn't move up there that well. I'm not really worried about the stove so much as I am keeping my better half and daughter warm. I was looking at an inexpensive 850va on Amazon last night but I also found a used 350va on Craigslist. I thought that one might be pushing it though. I'll have to pull out the blower and check what it's rated at.

Thanks for the input guys!