Thinking of replacing a VC Defiant Encore (circa 1990) with Jotul Oslo

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

GUS57

Hearth Supporter
Sep 17, 2010
North Central Connecticut
First time on this forum. I have been burning a VC defiant encore for 20 years. Done the yearly maintenance (gaskets, clean-up), have replaced complete fire back kits twice (with refractory) and a half dozen catalitic converters. Last year when the stove was running with the damper on and the stove in the 400-500 degree range I would get the occasional smell of wood smoke, though I saw no smoke. I am assuming after 20 years the cement at the stoves joint is probably breaking down. I am not sure that after 20 years its worth going through the exercise of doing a complete rebuild or if its time to look to a new Stove. I have been looking at the Jotul Oslo F500 and the Hearthstone Heritage. They both seem like decent stoves, (different in heating quality from what I have been told). My gut is telling me that the Jotul looks a bit more "bullet proof" then the Heritage. I would welcome forum members opinions on a rebuild or not (not even sure if its a one person at home job) and their opinions on the two possibilities for a new stove. I appreciate your time and advice. Gus

From what I have read here when its time the oslo would be my choice.

We can't give you advice on a subject like this. That's like telling someone its time to put the dog down.

I just went through this 18 months ago. And I just sold my FA455 DW Sequioa today. Last saw it on a trailer driving down the driveway.