Wood Insert Recommendations

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Ovationcs257

Oct 26, 2022
Rochester NY
I think I’m looking for an insert (I think but can be easily swayed) for my brick fireplace. This will likely mostly be used as a secondary source of heat most of the time but we get a lot of os snow and inevitably lose power once/ twice a year so I want to have a backup plan for these times.

My preferences are below in no particular order. I have zero wood stove experience but have been lurking around the forum trying to learn.

• I think I want an insert that is sticking out as far into the room as I can get it. I would consider a stand-alone stove but I don’t know if it would work with my setup as I’m not sure that I have the height or hearth width to make it work.
  • I want a non-catalyst stove that is simple to operate and is high quality
The house is a 1975 1200 sqft ranch with a 1000sqft basement. But the insulation and air sealing have been completed so even with a leaky fireplace my blower door test blew a 1200cfm so it is relatively tight for the age of the house. the fireplace is located down about 4' from the first floor in the Den room and this room is a concrete slab on grade so I can always remove the carpet in front of the hearth if needed for clearance.

Attached are some photos, a floor plan, and some measurements.

The flue is a 12x12 clay tile. From what I have read I want a medium or heavy-weight liner that is insulated. There is a nice SS extension on the flue, can this still be used once the liner is in place?