England Stove Works 13-NC-CLP 13-NC-MH Intake not responsive

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Loco_Driver

Jan 27, 2019
Western Pennsylvania
Hey Everyone! I'm a newbie, so please excuse me. My setup is I have been using a used England Stove Works wood stove with a proper sealing door gasket connected to an unlined brick chimney. I noticed since day one of using it that the intake is unresponsive. Link to video of woodstove with intake opening and closing: https://drive.google.com/open?id=1PCrys_t7Ij3Cn3iF6CsK6OLPmXG4w44b

The intake is connected, but it looks like a sloppy design. Here is a video of the intake guts from the only angle I can get: https://drive.google.com/open?id=1Ud-r4vLg4A_cdoySpbmw7BotPVfUPwV3
I noticed that it seems the intake isn't closing all the way by design...

Can anyone with experience let me know if the chimney being unlined is making the stove pull too much air in due to it being too large? Is this a woodstove defect? Anyone else have this brand of wood stove?

Any help is appreciated!!

Hey Everyone! I'm a newbie, so please excuse me. My setup is I have been using a used England Stove Works wood stove with a proper sealing door gasket connected to an unlined brick chimney. I noticed since day one of using it that the intake is unresponsive. Link to video of woodstove with intake opening and closing: https://drive.google.com/open?id=1PCrys_t7Ij3Cn3iF6CsK6OLPmXG4w44b

The intake is connected, but it looks like a sloppy design. Here is a video of the intake guts from the only angle I can get: https://drive.google.com/open?id=1Ud-r4vLg4A_cdoySpbmw7BotPVfUPwV3