How to Reduce Fireplace Opening

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

CozyCabin

Aug 16, 2015
Mtns of Southern CA
Hello. I'm a newbie here. I'm overhauling my fireplace & installing an insert. I'm planning on purchasing a Morso 5660 flush mount wood burning insert. My fireplace opening is 35 1/8" W x 29 1/2" H. The Morso 5660 is 30 3/8" W x 23" H so I need to reduce the opening. I'm thinking I can just buy fire bricks & high temp mortar and build up the base and sides. I'm going to be plastering over all of the face with Structo Lite anyway, so it won't be seen? Am I on the right track or is this DIYer in over his head? P.S. I could forgo the opening reduction & get the larger wide trim making overall insert 40" W x 33" H but that would dwarf the window in 10" of cast iron on ea side & I don't like the look. Thanks so much for your help!

I'm thinking I can just buy fire bricks & high temp mortar and build up the base and sides.
No reason you cant do that. you could use regular brick and mortar to for that matter

No reason you cant do that. you could use regular brick and mortar to for that matter

Wow! Really?! That would be fantastic. Thanks so much for your help! My wife was convinced we'd need to hire a mason and it would cost a fortune. Could I use quickrete as mortar?

I want to "float" the insert so will need a few layers of bricks on the bottom. For the base layer, I read somewhere that it's better to use sand as mortar. Is that true? Thanks again for your input. I really appreciate it.