New to Hearth

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

TheIndian

Jan 11, 2018
Long Island
Hi All,
Wish I could say I am new to burning wood but I can’t even say that just yet...doing my research and hope to have a wood stove that fits our needs/wants this year. Tons of great info here...thx for that!

I live in a high-ranch and would like to put a stove on the first floor in a corner of the house.

I understand that BTU output has a lot to do with this question but I would like to know if we will most likely reap the benefits of the heat output of the stove up on the second floor. We all know heat rises so I am guessing there will be some benefits upstairs even with a small stove.

Your input/experiences appreciated.

Chris

Hi All,
Wish I could say I am new to burning wood but I can’t even say that just yet...doing my research and hope to have a wood stove that fits our needs/wants this year. Tons of great info here...thx for that!

I live in a high-ranch and would like to put a stove on the first floor in a corner of the house.

I understand that BTU output has a lot to do with this question but I would like to know if we will most likely reap the benefits of the heat output of the stove up on the second floor. We all know heat rises so I am guessing there will be some benefits upstairs even with a small stove.

Chris

Welcome. You are correct about heat rising of course. I think the closer to the stairs the stove is, the more you will feel the benefit of the heat upstairs. But a lot of that will also be affected by the general layout of the house and how well the air is able to move throughout the home.