New vc encore and new to wood burning

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Crash525

Apr 24, 2021
Niles michigian
Hello everyone, I came here to ask the experienced wood burners about their experience and advice of vc encores and their use. My wife and I just moving into our newly built home and we had a vc encore wood stove installed with the house. Its all professionally installed besides the hearth pad which I made to code and it was approved by the installers and building inspectors.

Anyways, I am new to wood burning. I'm in southern michigan. The weather has been up and down. This week has been fairly cold. I was able to get non- treated pallet wood that's 3x4x12 -16in. It ranges from 10 to 16% moisture content. Its been in the 30f and 40f when I try to burn. I can get a good kindling to light, then add a few larger pieces and and then whole pieces and get everything up to temp. I was burning with the catalyst in and it appeared to work just fine. No smoke out of the chimney and running around 600f on the stove top temp gauge. It basically cooked us out. We had to open windows. I set them TAC all the way down but it stayed at 600. I figured it was the cat just doing its job. We have a 1620 sqft ranch, main room is 700sq where the stove it. Basement 1620 and basement door open, room doors open and furnace recirculation fan on at times and ceiling fans on. I still had to open windows to keep it less than 76f inside. That's with two whole pieces max.