Old Potbelly in a Small Space Help

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

ChainsawDave

Nov 5, 2017
Upstate NY
Hey everybody,

I'm new to wood stoves and this is my first post. I wanted to run some things by the folks here to see if this project of mine was a going to work out. I've been researching like crazy, which I always do on my homestead projects, but wanted advice because there's more danger involved with wood stoves than the usual stuff I do.

I have an antique pot belly stove ( W.H Landers Co. Hustler #12 from Syracuse, NY). My buddy found it for free on the side of the road. Other than being rusty (which I'm taking care of), it's solid. There aren't any cracks or thin spots. I want to install it in my 14' x 10' cabin. The cabin isn't insulated or air sealed at all. I'll mainly be using the stove to warm up a bit on days in the early spring and late fall when I'm working on the land. Thus, I'm not concerned with fuel and usage efficiency, like if it were a houses main heat source. My avatar picture is of my cabin.

I've read through a whole lot of posts on this forum, the NFPA 211 and info on woodheat.org, and feel confident I can install it safely. It will take up a lot of space and use a lot of sheet metal for the wall protection but I think I can live with that.

So my questions are:
Even with small fires and considering the cabin is not insulated or sealed, does the stove still seem too big? I know there are small stoves on the market now for tiny homes and the like but they are way out of my budget for the time being.

Is it even a wood stove? If it's a coal stove could I use it with wood?