Shed Experts - See what the Don's special custom channel under the Rake Boards is for!!!

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Don2222

Minister of Fire
Feb 1, 2010
Salem NH
Hello

A friend and I are building a shed, which I have never done before. The building code for this part of town is no more than 100 sqft max. So 10x10 it is! The 6x6s in the pic below are just edge trimming.

I do have 3/4 inch stones under the blocks down 2 ft and I will have stones around the edge for the drip edge.

Two Questions?

Is there a good reason to cover the ground under the shed with 3/4" stones?

Is it better to have the shed on 2 blocks so it will be higher and more air will flow under it?

See pic below. Click to enlarge:

Attachments

• TRHShedBaseBlocksSC.jpg
    TRHShedBaseBlocksSC.jpg
    149.1 KB · Views: 2,232
If there is a floor i would not do stones. And yes you want air flow under there.

smokinjay said:
If there is a floor i would not do stones. And yes you want air flow under there.

Hi smokinjay

Yes, there will be a plywood floor. Why no stones?

Don2222 said:
smokinjay said:

Hi smokinjay

Yes, there will be a plywood floor. Why no stones?

You got block so its up off the ground. Unless the drainage is very poor it will be fine with out gravel under there. Now if you want to make it prettier?

Hello

Thanks for explaining, the drainage is ok there, but I do not want any mold in the shed.

Don2222 said:
Hello

Thanks for explaining, the drainage is ok there, but I do not want any mold in the shed.

Air flow you will not but,...Doesnt hurt to over build! ;-)