Well.... no tee clean out cap on SS Liner

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

shuabills

Oct 23, 2019
Northeast Ohio
Hello, I am new to wood burners and this site but hopefully someone can give me some advice.

My problem,

So i recently had to reinstall a SS liner down my unlined interior chimney for a wood burning stove. I insulated the liner and added a SS Tee with clean out

but my friend who was helping me told me after we were done that the clean out cap was useless and left it off the tee .

I at first agreed but after reading around the site, that appears to have been incorrect (I think).

Anyone have any great ideas on how to attach the clean out cap without pulling out the liner for a 2nd time?

I have a little bit of access in the basement via an old thimble hole but the tee is about 8 feet higher up the chimney.

Note: My house is super tall and the roof is super steep. I had to rent a 55' lift to do the job.

Hello, I am new to wood burners and this site but hopefully someone can give me some advice.

My problem,

So i recently had to reinstall a SS liner down my unlined interior chimney for a wood burning stove. I insulated the liner and added a SS Tee with clean out

but my friend who was helping me told me after we were done that the clean out cap was useless and left it off the tee .

I at first agreed but after reading around the site, that appears to have been incorrect (I think).

Anyone have any great ideas on how to attach the clean out cap without pulling out the liner for a 2nd time?