• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

mgmancz

Dec 18, 2022
New York, USA
Hi all, I’m fairly new to wood stoves and moved into a house last year with an Avalon Rainier wood stove insert. It wasn’t in the greatest condition but we cleaned it up, replaced the baffles and air tubes, new glue liner, etc. and got it working pretty well. The only issue is that it sometimes overfires even with the air intake closed down all the way. The gasket is in pretty good shape and I did the dollar bill test, which it passes.

I found this small crack on the side of the door, and it appears to be a crack in the cast iron. Is this the source of my issue? Wondering if it would be better to just get a new wood stove since I’m not sure how old this one is or how the previous owner operated it. Or is this salvageable?

783B84E3-4C12-4F2F-B4C2-269F14A835F9.jpeg A80CC6CC-35ED-4536-8C45-4F4A85B437E3.jpeg

I can’t see a crack in the pics, so it seems like there might be other issues besides the crack. Common culprits that contribute to overfiring are the height of the chimney, and how long the air is left open before closing it down.

Reactions: mgmancz
I can’t see a crack in the pics, so it seems like there might be other issues besides the crack. Common culprits that contribute to overfiring are the height of the chimney, and how long the air is left open before closing it down.
05AA21CE-1FA8-4F80-8B6E-62B7BB5C4E95.jpeg

It’s small, but I can definitely see the light of the fire through it. I don’t weld, but I have read that there are some epoxies to fill cast iron cracks. Any experience with mending small cracks?